If you're following a gluten-free diet you need to ensure you're only eating foods that don't contain gluten.
Foods to avoid
The following foods and drinks contain gluten and should be avoided:
- pizza bases
- breakfast cereals
- squashes and fizzy drinks that contain barley
You can find gluten-free alternatives to these foods and drinks in your nearest supermarket, health food shop or on prescription.
Oats don’t contain gluten but they can easily become contaminated with other cereals containing gluten during the production stage. Because of this, people with coeliac disease are advised to eat specifically prepared uncontaminated gluten-free oats.
However, even with uncontaminated gluten-free oats, a small number of people remain sensitive to avenin. Avenin is a protein found in oats which is similar to gluten.
If you have coeliac disease you can choose to include gluten-free oats in your diet at any stage. If your symptoms return you must stop eating oats and seek the advice of a health professional.
Further information about oats and gluten
There are many foods and drinks that are naturally gluten-free, such as:
- fruit and vegetables
- dairy foods
- fruit juice and cordials
- flavoured water
- fizzy drinks
- spirits and liqueurs
A dietitian can help to identify which foods are safe to eat if you're unsure.
Gluten-free food prescriptions
If you have a confirmed diagnosis of coeliac disease or dermatitis herpetiformis, you can access gluten-free foods on prescriptions through your GP or Scottish Gluten-free Food Service.
How to register with the gluten-free food service
By law, foods labelled as ‘gluten free’ can contain no more than 20 parts per million (ppm) of gluten and are safe for you to eat.
Always check that food and drink is gluten-free before buying. You can do this by checking the label. A dietitian can help to explain the labelling of gluten-free foods if you're unsure.